August 11, 2016

Subjects and Syllabus for ICAR’s AIEEA-UG, Stream A and Stream B

There are two streams in ICAR’s AIEEA (UG) entrance exam. Stream A and Stream B. Both these streams have two subjects common i.e. Physics and Chemistry. While stream A has Biology as a third subject, Stream B has Mathematics as the third subject. Agriculture as a third subject can also be taken only by the stream A people, whereas Stream B people can take only Mathematics as their third subject.

Stream A Subjects

  1. Physics (Common for Both Streams) click here for physics syllabus

  2. Chemistry (Common for Both Streams) click here for chemistry syllabus

  3. Biology / Agriculture (Any one subject) click here for Biology syllabus and for Agriculture syllabus

Stream B Subjects

  1. Physics (Common for Both Streams) click here for physics syllabus

  2. Chemistry (Common for Both Streams) click here for chemistry syllabus

  3. Mathematics click here for mathematics syllabus

Exam Pattern and Marking Scheme

  1. ICAR has introduced CBT (Computer Based Test) from Year 2018-19 onward. There is no Paper based exam for ICAR exams.

  2. Paper for ‘Stream–A’ shall carry questions on Biology as well as Agriculture subject, out of which the candidate has to attempt/opt/choose only one subject, either Biology or Agriculture.

  3. ‘Stream–B’ paper carries questions on Mathematics subject.

  4. Question paper will have 180 multiple-choice objective type questions, each with four options, 60 questions in Physics, serially numbered from 1-60, 60 questions in Chemistry, numbering from 61-120 and 60 questions in Agriculture/Biology/Mathematics, numbering from 121-180.

  5. Marking Scheme: Each correctly answered question will earn four marks, with a maximum of 720 marks for the paper. For each incorrect answer one mark will be deducted from the total score. Question with no response indicated will not be awarded any mark and there will be no negative marking for that question. The candidates are advised not to attempt such questions, for which they are not sure of the correct answer. More than one answer indicated against a question will be deemed as incorrect answer and will invite negative marking.

  6. Question paper for the examination shall be bilingual, i.e., in ENGLISH and HINDI. In case of any variation in English and Hindi versions of question(s), English version will be taken as the final and correct version.

Some important Points about the Exam: Candidates are NOT required to submit any certificates / marks sheet etc. with the Application. The candidates appearing in the final qualifying examination are also eligible to apply and can appear in this entrance examination, but they must produce documentary evidence of their acquiring eligibility on the date of counseling. Candidates are not required to give any option for admission in any Agricultural University/subjects at the time of online filling up of application form. The admission/allotment of seats in the Agricultural Universities will be made through personal appearance/ counseling in accordance with the choice made by the candidate in the Counseling Form, and as per the seats available at his/her merit-rank within the Stream in which he/she appeared for the Entrance Examination.

e-Admit Card: The e-Admit Card will be uploaded on ICAR website during specified period. This copy of Admit Card must be self-attested or duly attested by Principal of the School/College last attended or a Gazetted Officer and brought to the Examination Hall for appearing in the examination. Candidate may note that without the attestation of photo as well as signature and putting thumb impression of the candidate on e-Admit card, candidate will not be allowed to appear in the examination. Candidate is advised to preserve this e-Admit card till completion of counseling and admission process in the allotted Agricultural University. In case of any difficulty in obtaining the roll number/examination venue from the ICAR website, the candidate is advised to contact the Nodal Officer of the respective Examination City center, two days before the scheduled examination date.

Evaluation and Declaration of Result: Overall merit-rank list shall be prepared separately for both subject streams. In the event of candidates getting equal marks in the Entrance Examination, relative merit will be determined on the basis of marks obtained in the compulsory subjects (Physics and Chemistry) in AIEEA-UG Examination. In the event of tie again, a candidate, higher in age, would be rated higher in merit. Category-wise final merit list for counseling shall be prepared based on the reservation category information given by the candidate in the application. The result of the AIEEA-UG is likely to be declared by second week of June every year and will be placed on ICAR website. The copies of the result will also be displayed at the Examination Cell of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Krishi Anusandhan Bhavan-II, Pusa, New Delhi-110 012. The result of the entrance examination would be available in terms of overall merit-rank and category rank obtained by the candidates qualified for counseling.

No Re-Checking/ Re-Evaluation of Answers: No requests for re-checking or re-evaluation is entertained. However, The candidate may be allowed to inspect his / her own answers along with answer key or given a copy thereof, if such representation / request is submitted by the candidate in his or her own hand writing and signature within 10 days from the date of declaration of result on ICAR website along with a copy of admit card, hard copy of online application form and Demand Draft of Rs. 500/- (Rupees five hundred only) drawn in favour of “Secretary, ICAR Education Division, Revolving Fund” payable at New Delhi.

Exam Centers (49 cities)

Anand, Bengaluru, Bhubaneswar, Bikaner, Chennai, Cochin, Coimbatore, Delhi, Dharwad, Gangtok, Guwahati, Hisar, Hyderabad, Imphal, Jaipur, Indore, Jabalpur, Jammu, Karnal, Kolkata, Kota, Lucknow, Ludhiana, Mannuthy (Kerala), Mohanpur, Nagpur, Palampur, Pantnagar, Patna, Port Blair, Pune, Pusa (Bihar), Raipur, Ranchi, Shillong, Solan, Srinagar (Kashmir), Tirupati, Thiruvananthapuram, Udaipur, Varanasi, Mathura, Bareilly, Jodhpur, Kozhikode, Parbhani, Jhalawar, Ajmer, Bhagalpur.