June 20, 2016

List of Non Recognised Colleges by ICAR for AgBSc

There are hundreds of universities in India. Very few universities are recognised by ICAR for BSc Agriculture courses. Rest of them are all non recognized universities. Here is a list of universities that are not offering or not recognized by ICAR for any of the agricultural courses,if at all they offer. If you think you can enhance or suggest or find error or discrepancy in the list, please bring the same to the notice of Mr. Kumar at kumar@icarcolleges.in or call +91 9000 772 442, for update or correction.

For a list of recognized agri colleges click here.

Universities NOT recognized by ICAR

The university system in India is broadly divided into 4 categories. Based on this, the list of universities not recognized by ICAR under each category is given below. Since universities are not recognized by ICAR, needless to say that the agriculture degree offered by the respective constituent or affiliated colleges too become not recognized by Indian Council of Agriculture Research (ICAR) although most of these universities, constituent/affiliated colleges are very well managed, well reputed with great popularity in the academic circles and accredited by UGC, AICTE, other professional bodies having national and international recognition, but only for their non agricultural degrees, not for the agriculture degrees.

  1. Central universities are established by an Act of Parliament and are under the purview of the Department of Higher Education in the Union Human Resource Development Ministry. The UGC lists 47 central universities. Out of 47, only 3 are recognized by ICAR for AgBSc courses

  2. State universities are established and are run by the state governments and union territories of India. There are 347 state universities. Most of these state universities have constituent/private affiliated colleges and offer a wide range of UG courses.

  3. Deemed university is  a status of autonomy granted by the Department of Higher Education, Government of India on the advice of the UGC, under Section 3 of the UGC Act. There are 123 deemed universities. Out of this only 1 deemed university is recognized by ICAR for all its agriculture courses.

  4. Private universities are approved by the UGC under private management. They can grant degrees but they are not allowed to have off-campus affiliated colleges. There are 237 private universities and none of them have any recognition by ICAR for any of their agricultural courses, if they offer at all.